Natsuyuki Rendezvous

Yay! This is my second favorite anime for this season (also available to watch for free on Crunchyroll for viewers in the US), mostly just because I think it’s the most interesting use of a ghost in a while. I admit, my ghost-story standards are not that great, as I have long standing arguments with my significant other and best friends about the merits/demerits of Ghost Dad (BRILLIANCE AND YAYS!).

Image

A lady! Who is interesting and different looking!

Those things aside, I do enjoy a drama, I enjoy a love story, and I enjoy a paranormal story. That’s what this is!  I won’t go into too many details so as to not spoil a good porch scene in the first episode. But I like the main character, he’s cute and manly and I like that combination. I like the girl-love-interest, because she seems reasonable, isn’t very girly, and is loved anyway (yay, a diversity of women!). And it’s fun, though also sometimes sad. And really, I feel like it’s more original, and therefore interesting, than many other animes that I could be watching instead. I could point out specific plot turns/twists but I won’t spoil them! Check it out, yay!
If I had to say something bad about it, that would be that I really have trouble BELIEVING that there is not going to be a happy ending, that things just won’t end up well, and that takes a bit out of the tension of, OMG, am I dying? Am I going to suicide? etc. that happens. Also, I think it spends a little too much time in Lala land, and I think that the fairy tale could be worked in better, or at least more… I dunno, contribute to the overall ambiance and plot of an episode? (I’m comparing to Princess Tutu and it’s falling short).

Leave a Reply

